Class Overview

The State of Nevada Alcohol and Drug Program includes pre-employment testing for selected job classes and positions affecting public safety and approved by the Personnel Commission, reasonable suspicion testing, post accident testing and return to work testing.

The goal of this class is to provide supervisors with the information and resources necessary to perform their responsibilities in regards to complying with the State's Alcohol and Drug Program.

Minimum Passing Score: 70% on the Exam

Time to complete the class: Approximately 2 hours

Course Instructor

Alcohol and Drug Program Coordinator

100 N. Stewart St., Ste. 200

Carson City, NV 89701

Office hours: Monday - Friday, 8:00 am - 5:00 pm

Phone: (775) 684-0111

Email: cphughes@admin.nv.gov

If you are registered in an instructor led classroom course, but are taking this on-line course in-lieu of the instructor led course, please remember to drop from the instructor led course. THANK YOU!


Description:
The State of Nevada is an Equal Employment employer and does not discriminate against employees or job applicants. This course will help the participant gain general knowledge of EEO, ADA, FMLA and review of rules, regulations and policies in employment. Reinforce good communication and fair treatment towards others. This course is mandatory training for all managers and supervisors with the State of Nevada, in accordance with NAC 284.498

Learning Objectives:

  • To enhance your knowledge of EEO Laws
  • What is the impact of Discrimination or Sexual Harassment on the workplace
  • Become aware of Management's role
  • Learn to respond appropriately
  • The importance of communication
  • Your role is as a coach to employees

Requirements:
All topics must viewed to obtain a complete grade.

Evaluation:
There will be quizzes and a final exam.

Minimum Passing Score: 70% on the final exam.

Credit Hours: 2 hours 

Time to compete the class: Approximately 2 hours 

Course Instructor: 

Division of Human Resource Management-EEO Office

100 N. Stewart St., Ste. 200 

Carson City, NV 89701

EEO Office Hours: Mon - Fri 8:00 am - 5:00 pm

Phone: (775) 684-0104

E-mail: tammys@admin.nv.gov


Course Overview

Evaluating Employee Performance explains the laws, regulations, processes and procedures for developing and presenting effective employee performance appraisals for classified employees. This course fulfills part of the requirements for mandatory supervisor and manager training as stated in NAC 284.498 Training of supervisory and managerial employees.


Minimum Passing Score: 70% on the Exam

Time to complete the course: Approximately 1 1/2 hours

Course Instructor: Denise Woo-Seymour     (775) 684-0149    dseymour@admin.nv.gov

Technical Assistance on this software: INITIAL CONTACT WILL BE WITH YOUR AGENCY IT. If not resolved, you may call the HR Help Desk at (775) 687-9099 or (866) 686-3287.


Credit Hours:  2 hours

Time to complete:  1 hour (approximately)

Course Overview:

Handling Grievances provides an overview of the State of Nevada grievance process, procedures and how supervisors are to respond when an employee chooses to file a grievance.

This course fulfills part of the mandatory supervisory training requirements as stated in NAC 284.498 Training of Supervisory and Managerial employees.

Learning Objective: 

Upon completing this course, you should be able to:

  • Explain the theory behind the State of Nevada grievance process.
  • Explain the requirements of the State of Nevada grievance process as stated in Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) and Nevada Administrative Code (NAC).
  • Explain the role of the Employee Management Committee (EMC)

Exam:

This course includes a final exam.  A passing grade is 70% or better.  If you do not achieve a passing score, you are required to retake the class.

Instructor:  Kristen Hanson (775) 684-0148 or khanson@admin.nv.gov 

                     Denise Woo-Seymour (775) 684-0149 or dseymour@admin.nv.gov



Class Overview

This class covers the steps of the staffing process, to include:

  • Job Analysis
  • Sourcing/Recruiting
  • Interviewing
  • Selection & Hiring
  • Onboarding

This class is open to all State of Nevada employees and mandatory for all supervisors of classified employees in accordance with NAC 284.498.

Minimum Passing Score: 70% on the Exam

Time to Complete the Class: Approximately 2 hours

Course Instructor

Division of Human Resource Management - Consultation & Accountability

100 N. Stewart St., Ste. 200

Carson City, NV 89701

Office hours: Monday - Friday, 8:00 am - 5:00 pm

Phone: (775) 684-0111

Email: cphughes@admin.nv.gov

Course Overview

The goal of this course is to familiarize you with the State of Nevada Progressive Disciplinary Procedures.  The course will help you for your role in carrying out the procedures should it be necessary to do so.  This course is mandatory for all supervisors of classified employees.

Learning Objectives
Upon completing this course you will be able to:

1. Identify supervisory responsibilities in carrying out disciplinary action.

2. Explain the steps involved in planning and carrying out a disciplinary meeting.

3. Demonstrate an understanding of the regulations regarding causes for disciplinary action.

4. Recognize the difference between a coaching and a disciplinary discussion.
 

Minimum Passing Score: This course includes a final exam.  A passing grade is 70% or better.  If you do not achieve a passing score, you are required to retake the class.  Final Exam

Credit Hours: 2.0

Time to Complete (Approx.): 2 hours

Instructor:  Kristen Hanson (775) 684-0148 or khanson@admin.nv.gov

                      Denise Woo-Seymour (775) 684-0149 or dseymour@admin.nv.gov

Course Overview

Work Performance Standards (Prerequisite for "In Class" WPS Workshop) explains the laws, regulations, processes and procedures for developing and presenting effective work performance standards for classified employees. This course fulfills the requirements for mandatory supervisor and manager training as stated in NAC 284.498 Training of supervisory and managerial employees.

Minimum Passing Score: 70% on the Exam

Time to complete the course: Approximately 1 1/2 hours

Course Instructor: Denise Woo-Seymour     (775) 684-0149    dseymour@admin.nv.gov

Technical Assistance on this software: INITIAL CONTACT WILL BE WITH YOUR AGENCY IT. If not resolved, you may call the HR Help Desk at (775) 687-9099 or (866) 686-3287.